MaryannA

By MaryannA

When the Red Red Robin...

comes bob bob bobbin along!

WHEN THE RED, RED ROBIN COMES BOB-BOB-BOBBIN' ALONG

Now, I heard a robin this morning
I'm feeling happy today
Gonna pack my cares and whistle,
Blow them all away!

And what if I have been unlucky?
You know, really, I haven't a thing.
There's a time I always feel happy--
As happy as a king:

When the red, red robin comes bob, bob bobbin' along, along,
There'll be no more sobbing when he starts throbbing
His own sweet song.

Wake up, wake up, you sleepy head,
Get up, get up, get out of bed,
Cheer up, cheer up the sun is red,
Live, love, laugh and be happy.

What if I've been blue,
Now I'm walking through fields of flowers,
Rain may glisten, but still I listen for hours and hours.
I'm just a kid again, doing what I did again, singing a song,
When the red, red robin comes bob, bob bobbin' along!

Though rain may fall in the evening,
And rain may fall in the night
When the robin sings in the morning
I know the sun is bright.

I keep still when I hear him
Singing away up there in the trees,
For the little Angel of Gladness
Brings happiness to me!

When the red, red robin comes bob, bob bobbin' along, along,
There'll be no more sobbing when he starts throbbing
His own sweet song.

Wake up, wake up, you sleepy head,
Get up, get up, get out of bed,
Cheer up, cheer up the sun is red,
Live, love, laugh and be happy!

What if I've been blue,
Now I'm walking through fields of flowers,
Rain may glisten, but still I listen for hours and hours.
I'm just a kid again, doing what I did again, singing a
song,
When the red, red robin comes bob, bob bobbin' along!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
From Wiki:

The Robin is considered a symbol of spring. A well-known example is a poem by Emily Dickinson, "I Dreaded That First Robin So". Among other 19th-century poems about the first robin of spring is "The First Robin" by Dr. William H. Drummond, which according to the author's wife is based on a Quebec superstition that whoever sees the first robin of spring will have good luck.

***American popular songs featuring this bird include "When the Red, Red Robin Comes Bob, Bob, Bobbin' Along", written by Harry M. Woods and a hit for Al Jolson and others, and "Rockin' Robin", written by Roger Thomas and a hit for Bobby Day and others.

Today was beautiful and sunny out. All the icicles have melted away and signs of spring are everywhere. The snow is still a great presence here, but the sunshine and all the singing birds are gearing up for spring!

I finally became a full member, so feel free to look large!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.