Plastic Shoe Photos

By suetastic

Moros y Cristianos

Backblipped.

So, I finally found black beans in Tesco this week. I've been looking for them for a while now, and all I could find were dried beans, rather than tinned beans. At the end of last week I made Nigella's Ham in Coke, and the follow up recipe is to use the leftover coke to make black bean soup.

Well, I planned to make the soup on Monday, so I mentioned to Av that I would have to soak the beans overnight on Sunday. I went out for a while and when I returned, Av had soaked the whole pack of beans! (I really only needed about half thet much!)

So I went trawling t'internet for other black bean recipes and found ...

Moros y Cristianos (Moors and Christians) a traditional Cuban dish, basically rice and beans!

So I have been eating beans for the past 4 days now. Be thankfull you do not live with me!

Recipe:
* 1 cup chopped onion
* 1 cup chopped green bell pepper
* 2 teaspoons chopped garlic
* 1-1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
* 1 teaspoon dried thyme leaves
* 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
* 1 bay leaf
* 1 Tablespoon olive oil
* 1 cup rice
* 1 can (14-1/2 ounces) diced tomatoes with green chilies
* 1 can (15 ounces) black beans or 1-1/2 cups cooked dry-packaged black beans rinsed, drained
* 2 cups water
* 1 Tablespoon apple cider vinegar
* 1/2 to 1 teaspoon salt (optional)
* 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Saute onion, bell pepper, garlic, cumin, thyme, crushed red pepper, and bay leaf in olive oil until onion is tender, about 5 minutes.

Stir in rice, tomatoes, black beans, water, vinegar, salt, and pepper.

Heat to boiling. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, until rice is tender, about 20 minutes. Let stand 5 minutes before serving.

Served with a really tasty Pork chop!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.