Space

I wonder if one day we'll ever understand how it is that there can be no end to space?

Because it's just not possible... but there it is.... up there....

It actually makes my adrenaline levels soar when I think about it.

It doesn't really matter and the answer may be so complex that we won't understand it anyway, or it might be so obvious that we'll wonder why we've never realised it.

Actually, it's just occurred to me (while I'm doing the dangerous thing of thinking of stuff just before bed), that maybe the reason we don't know, is because we're not ever supposed to know. Because if we ever did find out, then our quest for knowledge would be over because there would be nothing else of consequence to understand. And the reason for our existence would be gone and that would be it.

I mean the reason we progress is because we (as a collective) want to know more. See more amazing things and find things out. Even if it's what the ending of the crime thriller is? Or what that new restaurant is like? Or what the secret of long life is? Or what's out there?

So there must always be something new to discover?

I don't know. I'm not going to be able to sleep now. 10 minutes ago I was thinking about having cheese and crackers, not the bloody meaning of life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.