Bronze?

This is a figurine that we bought in South Africa, simply because we both liked it. It is supposedly bronze, but of course the ‘Cold Cast Bronze’ on the base is a bit of a giveaway. Not bronze at all, actually a resin, possibly coloured with bronze powder, and poured into a mould. Made locally, these pieces are obviously reasonably priced for visitors to buy as souvenirs, rather than as an investment. We did like the design and the finish, and we could afford it, so we’re okay with it not being ‘genuine’. I found the website of the company and it has ‘our’ piece there, along with others that we liked.

Of course I hardly ever photograph ‘things’ and so I just plonked it on the table, near some natural light, and took the picture. Hence it has shadows and reflections all over the place. Hopefully someone more skilled than me will tell me what I ought to have done!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.