Put that in your pipe and smoke it

Minor disaster last night. I was in the kitchen when I heard running water and lots of it. It was coming from the utility/washing/freezer/downstairs loo/messy cupboard area where the washing machine and a lot of plumbing live.

A tap had come off a speed fit connector, water everywhere. Not good. I got the water turned off and the sorted it properly this morning however we have a lot of water in the utility/washing/freezer/downstairs loo/messy cupboard area where the washing machine and a lot of plumbing live (we should probably give it a proper name, like 'The wash house' ;)). We mopped it all up and because we have tiled floors everywhere there is no damage.

When the leak was fixed we went to wash up all the wet towels... The washing machine has packed up. Very annoying. Ironically the washing machine is about the only thing in the house we have a maintenance contract on so I took the back off and fixed it myself. It had all got wet so I disconnected everything, put a heater on and we went to town.

Town was remarkable, Alf needed school shoes and was happy with the first pair he tried. He needed some jeans and found some in about 5 mins. All excellent. Poppy who needs no more clothes whatsoever managed to acquire a few more. Then Byrons for lunch then home.

We took off all of the flood defences, the irony being that while they have been up the only flood happened from the inside! Alf is now predicting masses of rain this evening. The sandbags are stacked and drying hopefully never to be used again!

Right, two more Harry Potter films left I suspect the first one will be starting in a mo.

I cannot take complete credit for the picture, I've seen variations of it a couple of times. I tried to make this a little darker. Thanks as always to H ;)

I hope you have an excellent weekend.

Best to go large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.