Life from a City

By LeggeAngie

Mirror Mirror on the wall...

DDWs February 2014 Alphabet Challenge - Unusual (concave reflection)
Bobsbitz59 Technique Challenge - Self Portrait

I am more comfortable behind the camera than I am in front of it. So this was difficult.

I decided to use a mirror to create the self portrait, and deliberately went for this one. It means such a lot. This mirror was given to my Grandmother in 1939 on the occasion of her wedding - from Pilkingtons' Glass, where she worked at the time. Its art deco, with a concave central part of the daisy, and peach petals. It used to hang in her spare bedroom.

The concave shape means reflections are distorted a little - so it creates an unusual effect. The other effect is that I ended up doing umpteenth shots to try to get something I was happy with!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.