Clare

By ClareON

to the city of the dead

I had to be in Townhead today, so I had a plan to go to the Glasgow Necropolis afterward. But it was too late, wet and windy by the time I got there, having wandered round the cathedral graveyard first. (It's now tucked under the Royal Infirmary's walls. I can't be the first to observe that overlooking an ancient graveyard must be an odd view to take in, from the windows of a major acute hospital.)

Anyway, I quickly snapped the main entrance of the Necropolis and resolved to come back another time. I noticed that a lot of people go in the gates, and them just stop and look for a few moments. It is an arresting prospect, with the rows of graves covering the hill, and having to cross a bridge to enter seems to add to the other-world feeling that graveyards often have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.