Time to shift the truck ("No worries")

But not before the water lapping at feet and wheels is blipped (and water line below the first adjustment hole on my crutches ;-)

More water large ;-)

Today has been a mix. Just like 3 years ago it was both ordinary and memorable. Early on friends dropped off an exercycle for me to borrow. Yay, just what the physio ordered :-)

I met up with my cousin Judy. We lunched together and shared silence together on the banks of the Heathcote River to mark the 3rd anniversary of the earthquake that destroyed large parts of Christchurch and changed our lives forever.

Life for me is largely ok. My home is still to be fixed and day to day fear has subsided. But for many it isn't so easy. 185 lives were lost and most of those were preventable. That's 185 families and countless friends who have to deal with the pain and sorrow of lives cut short, and the astounding level of private and institutional incompetence that led to the deaths of so many.

Yes, we can be positive about the rebuild, a new city and all of that, but please don't forget many still suffer because of death, injury and unjust insurance payouts and action.

Then my life shifted back to enjoying catching up with extended family followed by the pleasure of preparing a picnic to enjoy later while fishing.

My chair was set up on the edge of the Rakaia River, roughly 150m upstream of the river mouth. With the incoming tide we eventually had to shift. We saw a salmon and sea run trout, and down at the river mouth a fish or 3 were caught.

As always I loved just being out there, the companionship, fresh air, changing light and even the bite to the easterly, so very different to the earlier nor'westerly and 31 degrees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.