FoundWalking

By FoundWalking

Alone in the Woods

I've spent many years out in the wilderness. I feel safe hiking alone. Aside from bears and maybe a snake or two. I've never really encountered anything that made me think twice. That's not quite what happened today.

I took advantage of the good weather and escaped this creaky gray house and made my way south of Burlington to discover some trails and maybe to take advantage of some late afternoon light.

I stopped by a boat launch and unpacked my tripod and camera and marched out on a rocky crag. I noticed a fellow sitting in his car talking on the phone. He was still talking on his phone when I walked back to my car.

There's out of state plates on my car and a cargo box on top, the kind where many of the local skiing tourists keep their gear. It would appear that I'm just another tourist, in this case out with my camera.

I got back in my car and drove to the adjacent park where trails cut back into the woods and trace along the shore. Again I unpacked my camera and tripod and started walking back into the woods.

The guy on the phone followed me on foot as I left the parking lot. I 'm over six feet and 185 pounds. The guy following was around five foot nine inches, maybe 165 pounds. He was still talking on the phone.

When people are out for a walk they have a destination in mind. No one loiters in the woods. My shadow was always thirty feet behind me. I'd stop, he stopped. I moved, he moved, all the while he was still on the phone.

This went on for fifteen or twenty minutes. I figured he was the lookout while his buddies broke into my car. So I just had to find out and I walked up to within eighteen inches of his face and asked if I could help him out.

Most people would back up or get excited. Maybe flinch. Nothing.

"I'm just out walking around," is all he said as calmly as someone talking about the weather.

I left him with the impression that I was on to his game. I just wasn't sure if he was armed or what was waiting for me back in he parking lot.

I happened to get his license plates with my iphone before I stepped onto the trail. I now emailed it with the guys description back to my wife in Wisconsin. I walked out on the slushy ice figuring it would be more difficult to follow. I made my way back to the car looking over my shoulder as I went.

The car and all the windows were intact. His car was still there. I packed my gear and left. When I got back to the house I called the police. They appreciated the call and said that there had been a number of break-ins at that location.

I did get the sun setting on the Green Mountains. Took my mind off previous events.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.