Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Saints Peter and Paul Church, San Francisco

Our final full day in California and a long tour around some of the highlights of San Francisco. Despite it being a stunningly sunny day I resisted the opportunity for a colour photograph and instead I was fascinated by the way the crosses on the twin spire of the Saints Peter and Paul Church shone out in the late afternoon sun.

This is an opportunity for reflection. I have thoroughly enjoyed this tour. As an experience it ranks up there with my very favourite times, even challenging my Coast to Coast walk in terms of breathtaking views and great company to share them with. When you start a tour like this, where you only know one of the other participants, there is always a sense of apprehension that you will get on with your fellow travellers. I needn't have worried.

My new friends have made this a simply wonderful experience and only added to the enjoyment. We were ably guided by Mike Beck, a new Blipper. His knowledge and patience was boundless and his love of the great outdoors and nature shone through at every opportunity. Many will know John Gravett, who was our photographic lead. We had all spent time with him before on various Lakeland Photographic Holidays. John is a consumate professional photographer and very generous with his time and knowledge. His efforts to help us make the most of our opportunities to capture iconic images has been proven by the number of great shots posted this week. To prove it please check out Annie and Chris's, Keith's, Matt's and June's journals.

I have absolutely loved my time in California, a state I have never previously visited. In the words of a former governor "I'll be back!"

I have posted further images from Friday and Saturday on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.