Australian Reed Warbler

I say! Thanks so much for all your lovely comments, stars and subs for yesterday's selfie. It's all really appreciated, and little Paladian is still sitting in the spotlight even as I write this. She never would have realised all those years ago :))) It seems the boots struck a chord with many of my contemporaries!!

It's not been an easy day today - up at 4 am for a trip to the airport; a trip to the Farmers' Market at 8.30 am (where I was disappointed - they didn't have my favourite plums); and later on I had to/ needed to go to the 175th celebrations of the founding of Hahndorf. The Rower's family was a founding family, and he was really disappointed that he couldn't be there.

But, I thought ok, if I have to do my duty, I can also have a leetle fun. Hahndorf is only 4 km away from the wetlands, so I thought I'd call in there first. And so to continue on with the bird theme, I got a series of wonderful photos of the elusive Australian reed warbler.

They are a very common little bird, but extremely hard to photograph - they will flit so! Every time he chirruped, he would raise his little crest - the feathers are normally flat to the head, but I thought this shot was the cutest

Happy as a reed warbler in reeds, I went back to Hahndorf, and took a ton of very difficult images - bright sunshine and heavy shadow. I have no idea how they are going to turn out, but I do know there is a lot of processing to do.

By 3 pm I was knackered, and only a skerrick away from a nasty headache, so I called it a day, came home, and sank back into bed for an hour and a half.

Now I have a few things to do and then - oh joy - I can watch the latest series of Downton Abbey which starts tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.