Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Will have to try the end of the rainbow....

Went to see if I could get some cash from my bank this morning. Just a normal kind of everyday thing that folks do. Don't usually carry much cash these days - usually use debit or credit card.
But I'd gone to the bank to see if their cash machine was working. It wasn't.
Before that I'd gone on-line to do a cash transfer. The on-line system was down.
I spoke to a human being in a call centre who said that their systems were down and would be back up in 3-5 hours and in the meantime I wouldn't be able to use my bank card in a shop either.
I used to work in banking. I understand systems.
But I also understand risks and back-up systems. Where were the ones supporting the retail systems of HBOS today?
Oh, and it's 3 hours now, and no more system availability.
Their reputation was poor. Now it's in tatters.
I've been a customer for around 45 years. Yes, that's FORTY FIVE years - used to save my pennies there as a child.

So the point of the photo: well was trying to capture the rainbow over the bank this morning. I was thinking that if I couldn't get my money out I'd have to search out the pot of gold at the end of it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.