'White Night - Take 2'

Just as I finished uploading last nights blip after a miserable FAIL at White Night last night, I received a text message from MsMuns cousin Leng asking if I was interested in going in to White Night with her early in the morning. It ran from 7pm last night right through till 7am this morning. Wasn't sure that I would be able to get up early again, but said I'd give it a try, and yes I did get up early, 4:30am and drove to Box Hill to meet up with Leng. We arrived in town by 5am and found a park easily on Exhibition Street, not far from the main action on Flinders Street. We wandered down photographing the buildings with the projected images on them and then headed over to Eureka tower to watch the sunrise.

This shot is looking West out towards the docklands and the Bolte Bridge.

While up there we met a guy who looked like he had a great setup for shooting long exposure images through glass, a lens hood cover that had suction cups that fixed to the glass to block out any light / shadowing from inside the building (which my image here has plenty of). We started to chat to him and ask him what sort of images he was taking and he explained that he was shooting images for a time lapse video of White Night. His camera was set up to automatically take an image every 20 seconds. Then I started to ask him more questions about the process he uses to create these and if he had any online that I might be able to view. He pulled out his phone and directed it to his website which has some incredible videos and images on it and showed us THIS one which sent my imagination racing and apparently I can buy a plug in adapter to fit my camera to take these shots automatically too.

Leng said, Oh wow, I've just seen that somebody at my work has posted some time lapse videos on the company intranet site from Singapore, and sure enough, he said 'That would be me'. Found out that Leng and Debashis both work for Telstra. He was hoping to have the time lapse from this morning finished by tonight and uploaded so if you check back on his website doubleconvex.com you will be able to view his time lapse very shortly I suspect.

Home for breakfast by 8:30am, and then out of the house by 11:45pm to drive up to Kilmore about an hour's drive north of Melbourne for my cousin Billy's 21st birthday party today. It was a very layed back affair at my uncle and aunties house and everyone was very relaxed and enjoying a beautiful day. I really loved being able to spend time with Dad's brothers, sister and all of my cousins from that side of the family.

Home by around 7pm tonight, a quick hit of the tennis ball out the front with Dylan and then straight to bed for me after uploading this. I won't take too much rocking to sleep tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.