Over the Moon

This is my week to cover the goings on about town, including a New Moon party for 'tweens and teens at the library today. For those who've managed to remain blissfully unaware of the Twilight series, it is a series of four novels about vampires, werewolves, and teen angst written for teenagers. The movie based on the second book of the series is about to be released here in the US, much to the frenzied anticipation of crush-stricken young girls (and, well, some middle-aged women).

As I went about the room with about twenty middle-school girls -- some dressed in costume -- I took photos and listened to the debates over "Team Jacob" vs "Team Edward" and to tabloid gossip about the actors (and who, of course, was the cutest) while they made bookmarks and bracelets, played Twilight trivia, and had blood punch and vampire cookies.

I turned to one of the children's librarians, who also runs the weekly story-hour that my 4-year-old attends, and whispered, "So this is what I have to look forward to in ten years??" She nodded her head and we both giggled. While I'm not necessarily looking forward to my daughters 'tween years yet, I know there are worse ways she could spend her Friday afternoons than talking about vampire books and mooning over the latest heartthrobs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.