Wish I could have understood what she said


Just inside one of the huge gate entrances to the Pink City I watched an altercation between a couple and these two ladies over whatever was in the scales – loud words and lots of gesticulation but as soon as the saleswoman saw my camera she shouted at me for some money and rubbed her fingers together so I would understand!

Being a Sunday auto rickshaws were being serviced and many pedal rickshaws were having a rest. In the Moslem areas many small businesses were open for business though as they had Friday off. Schools are all closed so after my walk to the bus station to get a ticket to Delhi on Tuesday I was beset by children wanting their photograph taken. It is so unusual for people to walk anywhere and all the rickshaw drivers, whether pedal or auto, offer their services, ask what country you from? you remember me? why you walking? where you go? hello, hello? you speak French? With rictus smile I try to thank them all but sometimes it is very hard going and I resort to double Dutch for French doesn't put them off!


colourful sunday here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.