Pegged

Most of the crate wood has come from cutting down posts that I found in the shed when I was clearing it out to make the brew shed. This one was suspiciously heavy and looked like it had come from some kind of boat so I suspected mahogany or teak. It's very dark anyway. Too good for beer crates.

So I made sure there was no metal in it and ran it through the planing machine to end up with a really nice dark lump of wood. This little strip has little beech pegs from dowels that used to be the sides of Ewan's cot. I'll screw it somewhere and cover the screwholes nice contrasting oak plugs. Too many episodes of the New Yankee Workshop, I think.

Nice visit from the Smiths. The way he writes about them you'd think the kids were just like him but they're actually very polite and quiet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.