I often forget my camera

By kak

Miss me, but let me go

Today we mourned the passing of one of Tadashi's relatives, Ken Masamistu. He was a decorated veteran who fought in the 442nd Army battalion, the most decorated regime in the U.S. Army. The 442 was all Nisei (first generation Japanese-Americans) and they won battles, took mountains and liberated towns that no other regime could take. He was a great man, and was full of humor and quick with a smile. He will be missed. His beautiful wife, Mary, passed away a few years ago, but she was with us today. We celebrated Ken on the day that Mary would have been 79 years old.

At the service, the pastor read a poem he saw at a Veteran's cemetery, called "Miss me, but let me go". The poem is attributed to either Edgar Guest or Betty Miller, depending on where you look. But either way, it's beautiful.

Miss me a little--but not too long,
And not with your head bowed low;
Remember the love that we once shared
Miss me--but let me go.
For this is a journey that we all must take,
And each must go alone.
It's all a part of the Master's plan,
A step on the road to home.
When you are lonely and sick at heart,
Go to the friends we know,
And busy your sorrows in doing good deeds.
Miss me - but let me go.


Rest in peace Ken. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.