South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Rescued

If we see a daffodil
Lying by the road -
Ripped from its sustaining roots,
Left to die alone.

Do we leave it lying there?
Walk on by and give
Our thoughts to more 'important' things
Than to help it live?
(SueSouth)

I've been in a slightly melancholy, contemplative mood the last week or so, and when I saw this daffodil that had been picked and then not wanted I went and picked it up and put it in my shopping bag. I'm not sure whether I would usually have done this or not, but it almost felt like an abandoned creature...

It is beginning to curl up a bit now - after about six days - but it has sat in my kitchen and I've stroked its little petals each day. How daft is that?! It somehow didn't feel daft though. I think my feelings may have something to do with the fact that it was recently the fourth anniversary of my Mum's death and then Dad rang me to say that one of her best friends had died. I think it's a way of working through a bit of sadness by doing something symbolic.

Sorry if this sounds a bit dramatic, but I felt it was important to write this down as it expresses how I've been feeling. I feel ready to let the daffodil go now....when it's time.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.