Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Kensal Rise Library

Opened by Mark Twain in 1900, there has been a campaign to save my local library afoot for some time. The building, which is owned by All Souls College Oxford has been signed over to property developers.

To be brutally honest, I'm not sure where a book based library fits into the day of the internet. A community based centre with computer terminals and a broader remit might be a better idea. The campaign brought my neighbours together with Alan Bennett, Phillip Pullman and Zadie Smith who I suspect would have not put their feet inside the door otherwise.

Maybe I am being unduly cynical as I only went inside twice to use the photocopier and on both occasions it was deserted. Pete borrowed a few books to practice his English a while back.

A week of jobs at the BBC start today at 5pm, so I'm pacing myself this afternoon. The first job in a run is always the most crucial as you have to establish the best way to photograph everything. I'm taking a lot of lenses so I have choices.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.