Opal Rainbow

By opalrainbow

The mysterious case of the missing big mango.

Spent a couple of days in Bowen towards the end of 2010.

Called Miss J back from wet rocks, but she chose to ignore me. Then she found the slippery one. Unfortunately, she also had my handbag.

She started to panic a bit when she couldn't get back up on the rocks because now she was well and truely soaked.

As I'm trying to haul her out she looked at me and asked
'There aren't any sharks here are there mum?'

And I looked at her, scanned the ocean behind her before settling back on her worried face and said:

"No darling, but that crocodile looks like it's coming in pretty quick!"

Sometimes all a child needs is the right motivation ;

That's what I will forever remember Bowen for.

But most people remember Bowen for the Big Mango.

Last night someone nicked it. Not sure where they are going to hide it though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.