Fallow buck antler

I've been seeing lots of Roe deer at the nature reserve through the winter. There has clearly been a significant increase in the area. 20 years ago they were very rare; about 10 years ago I started seeing a small family group occasionally; now I see six or more on most visits. Without control they will become as big a pest as the Muntjac - browsing new coppice growth, munching patches of rare orchids, etc.

However, today I found evidence that Fallow deer are also in residence. This is the antler of a Fallow buck, the only deer where antlers broaden to form this palmate shape. This one would have been cast last April/May. A small group of Fallow deer have been seen in nearby fields, having probably wandered from the nearby National Trust Ashridge Estate. We really don't want further deer pressure on the reserve so I will be keeping a close eye on them through this year.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.