My days ...My life

By ElspethAnne

Time and tide ...

I think I am a bit obsessed with time passing as I get older. There seems to be a real tension between managing the daily commitment to work , home and family and the desperate need to focus what is important to me.

J's Mum asked us to take her grandmother's watch to the excellent watchmaker we know to see if it could be repaired. We took in two other watches also which had been passed down to J .
It will be lovely if they can be repaired.

I love TS Eliot's reflections on time in his poetry; extract from Burnt Norton , The Four Quartets here.

'Time present and time past
Are both perhaps present in time future,
And time future contained in time past.
If all time is eternally present
All time is unredeemable.
What might have been is an abstraction
Remaining a perpetual possibility
Only in a world of speculation.
What might have been and what has been
Point to one end, which is always present.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.