OldTimer

By OldTimer

Memorial Archway

Interestingly I have driven past this place for the last nearly 50 years and never stopped and looked. This morning had to dash over to Temuka and saw it with fresh blipping eyes and thought I will stop on the way back and I did.
This archway is a memorial to all the local Maoris that died in all the wars and their names are on the plaques.
The thing that I found really interesting when I stopped to think was that in the mid eigheen hundreds the Maori wars were being fought fast and furious in this land with much loss of life on both sides.
Then 50 years later our Maori people were crossing to the other side of the world to fight with the NZ troops in the support of the UK. A war that was not theirs but they put their hands up and went.
Wars are such crazy things.
A piece of poetry that I love says " The mothers Wept on the banks of the Thames and the mothers wept on the Rhine"
Makes you think doesn't it.

Thanks for all the comments on my sister's house. Yes sometime I will go and do the bedrooms and will pass your comments on to her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.