mverivaki

By mverivaki

Bundt

my son recently revealed to me that my cake is famous at school

so dont you eat it yourself, i asked him (he takes a piece to high school every day to stave off hunger till lunchtime)

well, i share it, becos kids see me eating it, and they never bring anything themselves (he takes cake and a banana/apple most days)

i was glad to hear he was sharing it, not becos he is feeding poor hungry children at school (i can guarantee you that he isn't), but because my food is being shared in an influential way which other kids, not just my own, may possibly remember when they are older

i reminded him that it contains common ingredients found in any rural village area in crete (few children's home kitchens do not contain olive oil, orange juice and eggs grown/produced by their parents/grandparents), but he reminded me that not everyone has such products freely availabel to them like we do (i trade eggs for oranges and broccoli with a friend)

but making a simple cake for your kdis to have something decent to eat at school is an act of love - it will take a little longer for my son to realise that his mother made a simple bundt cake throughout his school life for other reasons, not just to use up cheap ingredients

for more info on the 'keik', click here http://www.organicallycooked.com/2013/02/keik.html

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.