Grubby's Blipfolio

By Grubby

Green Woodpecker

Well I had planned to do mono photographs all week but when something special presents itself plans have to change. I was about to bang on the lounge window to scare away the numerous starlings that were emptying my feeders by scattering the seeds all over the place when I locked eyes with the Green Woodpecker that visits my garden. Normally he would have darted off as he is so shy but I ducked behind the curtain with fingers crossed. To my amazement he carried on searching for ants. I crept on all fours up to the window and held the camera above the sill whilst lying on the floor and looking up at the angled rear screen I snapped over 50 pictures and a bit of movie. I have been after this bird for absolutely ages and now.....done and dusted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.