hpx

By hpx

Just add water...

... and these wonderful fronds unfurl on my Punga ferns. And all on my door step. I don't think Punga Ferns enjoy Canterbury's relatively dry climate, but a regular dribble of water down the centre of the trunk year round sees them right.

Monday was, well Monday after a long weekend. Rumors abound re: our ongoing review and restructure. Regardless someone has to keep on doing the work so that's what we do.

My Dad noticed the comments about a 'stunned mullet'. I gave an explanation yesterday and here is something else he told me in an email today.

"I was once told that Mullet swim in large schools in rivers, are a sucking fish and hard to catch on a hook so the method was to throw a stick of gelignite into the school and this would stun them and they could be collected. Don't know how true it is and it sure would be frowned upon in this era of political correctness. Who knows!".

Other than that the fur child returned home with a drill bit attached to the magnet on his collar today (magnet opens his cat door). He's reluctant to tell me where he got it from. I'm torn between touring the neighbourhood to see if I can find the owner, and training him to get other drill bits ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.