Things what I saw

By JoEllis

From generation to generation

Helped out at my daughter's Brownies this evening. I enjoy doing it every now and then, they're a lovely group of girls.

This year Brownies is 100 years old so there are many exciting things happening including sleepovers, special challenge badges and days out.

Looking at this poster, in the centre of the yellow flower is 1979, the International Year of the Child. I was a Brownie myself back then!

Brown Owl and I were reminiscing about the old style uniforn we had to wear in those days - a scratchy brown dress, brown bobble hat and a leather belt with a purse on it in which our mums used to put our weekly subs (10p I think).

One of the young leaders said "Oh yes, I've seen one of those uniforms in the county archives".

I feel really old now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.