JMK

By JMK

Victoria Apartments Demolition

I had physio on my knee morning.. I asked him look at my neck to see if my headaches were coming from there.. and yes he seems to think so. Now I will have to wait and see if the treatment helps.

On my way home I stopped off to see how the demolition of the Victotia Sq apartments were coming along. I did a blip of them the other week. At first it did not look like a lot had been done, when I looked closely I could see that many rooms look more like a shell now.

The 13-storey Victoria Apartments building in Armagh St were built in 2005, the complex housed 17 apartments and were damaged in the February 2011 earthquake, putting the tower block on a noticeable lean. A 250-tonne crawler crane is being used in a cut-and-crane process to bring the building down. It is scheduled to take about 14 weeks.

The block where the building was situated will be used for Christchurch's new convention centre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.