Haircut

On the beach, Puri.

Which is echoing other places I the massive burst of hotel building along the beach. This was taken on the stretch by the fisherman's village, collections of shacks and alleyways, in the shadow of architectural disasters....I've never been here before and the only friend who had w here fifteen years ago. I doubt that he'd recognise it now. But there seems to have been a glut of building here, also, seven or eight years ago: the beach walk back from jagganath temple - a short tale there, non Hindus not allowed inside but certainly get hassled to contribute to the upkeep...ended up giving the 100 rupees that I was getting severely hassled for to a beggar in front of the temple dude, that did not please him at all, but then that was the idea...crazy place.

But its OK here, there's a weird vibe around the place...ended up for an hour in a beach hat with a lifeguard and a couple of his cronies, boom Shiva as they say. And delightful as it was and hanging around for a bit afterwards, it seemed that it was an echo of another world. But its still India, mad as a brush country, delightful and possibilities abound....

Odd WiFi problems again, little chance to see anything, hard enough getting a blip up...but we'll see how the days go...and so off to konark tomorrow I would think, finally to see the sun temple:-) and maybe see what the accommodation situation there is, t would be nice to find somewhere quiet but we'll see, I get the feeling I may be a few years too late for that...but I have a beach, so a couple of days sloth...and a ticket to Varanasi, which certainly won't be quiet, but I never got there before, so....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.