Skyroad

By Skyroad

An Inspection

Sean and Jessica had to teach for the morning so I had the house to myself. I enjoyed the cosiness: wind and rain still going through their looped music, but lovely to listen to when you're not trying to sleep. Later, when Sean came back we went on a drive and encountered these masked natives. I spoke to them a bit (my sheep is fairly fluent) and more gathered, offering their marmalade gazes. Which reminds me: I told Sean a certain joke concerning a goat. I had heard the critic Christopher Ricks relay it to a little audience of students in The Royal Marine Hotel after his lecture (on Dylan) for the Poetry Now fest a few years ago. I can't remember if anyone laughed besides myself, but my impression is that the students were, if not exactly shocked at the relish with with he told such a filthy joke, perhaps a bit nonplussed. I thought it was one of the best jokes I've heard, and he told it perfectly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.