The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Reed Bunting - Newport Wetlands

Made of those spontaneous decisions this morning. I woke up early, and the sun was streaming in through the skylight n the bedroom, so I decided to wander down to Newport Wetlands for the morning.

It's only my second visit of the year. It was a little quiet there, but we are in the cross over period of seasons. The winter wildfowl and thrushes are moving on, and the summer visitors are thinking of returning to our shores. There was still a few nice spots though. The Little Owl was on the usual perch. There were Long Tail Tits getting into the spirit of pre-Spring by collecting lichen off the tree branches, they clearly had a nest somewhere. There were Redpolls, Linnets, Cetti Warblers and Stonechats flitting around the brambles and hedgerows. The lagoons had the usual Pochards and Tufted Ducks diving, and a male female Goldeneye, which seem to be my bird of the year.

There was a flock of Reed Buntings picking at the seed heads on the reeds. This was quite a challenging photo as it was a distance off, and it was quite blustery. There were 12 fails for this one! Quite pleased with it.

Busy old afternoon when I got back. Dawn has just come back from the new client meeting, and the good news is we have him signed up. We are almost at capacity now. I can't believe it. It's been hard work, but we are almost there! I'm quite proud of myself and my wife!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.