Desert Squirrel

By PolS

Lithops aucampiae var. aucampiae

I forgot to dust this plant before I photographed it, but it does look more natural like this. In its natural habitat, the faces of the 'stone plant' would be almost covered in sand and dust anyway.

It has been another busy day, and wet too, so not too many blip opportunities. I resorted to the conservatory again, and although none of my lithops are flowering at present, I still find them attractive. Several are still in the process of dying after they were subjected to extreme high temperatures when the builders closed the windows on them over a very hot weekend, but I'm reluctant to throw them out until I'm certain there is no chance of recovery. It will be less depressing when I can remove them from sight!

PS This plant is still very healthy, and I've had it a long time so it has lots of large heads. It also produces magnificent flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.