Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

A Blip from the past!!

I am beginning to realise that you can't plan your Blip for the day. It's a big mistake to set you mind on what you might be blipping!! My friend and I are on our way to Mannum in South Australia. We're going to explore the majestic Murray River for 4 days on a Paddle Steamer. Yes, we're really looking forward to it and headed off this morning from the Blue Mountains by car.

Having decided to drive, our destination today was the town of Griffith in the Riverina. We had been driving for just on 6 hours and were almost there when we arrived in a small town called Barellen. Now there's something about this town that "rings a bell" I thought. I'd never been there before but it had a familiar ring to it.

As we drove down the main street we were confronted by the biggest Tennis Racket and tennis ball I've ever seen in my life. I have to tell you I nearly jumped out of the car. It was a tribute to one of my sporting hero's - Evonne Goolagong. Evonne is one of Australia's most famous tennis players and won 7 Grand Slam tournaments, including 2 Wimbeldon titles during her illustrious career.

I apologise fellow Blippers, if you're not into tennis, but I am and this was a great thrill for me. I can remember when Evonne first came on to the scene in Australian tennis. She was a 14 year old curly headed kid from the bush with a huge talent. One of the humblest of champions who is still contributing to the game over 40 years after winning her first Wimbeldon title.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.