Morning Sky on One Tree Hill

The polar vortex returned, bringing with it plummeting temperatures. And every surface that was wet froze. The snow surface became hard and unexpectedly slick, and my first step out of the car onto it in the morning nearly resulted in a full wipeout.

I love to take pictures in extreme cold. I have the gear for it, and I really don't mind the cold. In fact, turning my face into the cold breeze makes me feel fully alive, invigorated. And in addition, for my really short morning photo shoots (which are sometimes just five minutes or so - hey, I take what I can get, sandwiching my picture taking in among what can get to be a very busy life!), my warm, snug car is often just seconds away.

This is a shot of a hill that I pass every day on my drive to and from work. The little tree has lots of character, and the birds like it. I think of this place as one tree hill, just like the song by U2 with the same name.

On this particular day, the snow was hard and slick and shiny, providing a good reflective surface for the pale yellow morning sun. The last time I stopped there for photos, there were frost crystals on every corn stalk, on every bit of snow, on every surface. On this morning, there were none, though; I guess the air had not been still enough for them to form. Maybe next time . . .

The song: U2, One Tree Hill. It's one of my favorites, and the linked version is an awesome rendition. Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.