Five seconds of winter - and some

Spotted by at least nine people!

The air was bitter, the rain was sharp and this lot, despite their smiles, were shivering. They were queuing, precious tickets tucked away somewhere safely dry, to be as near the stage as possible for a gig by the boyband 5 seconds of summer that apparently sold out within minutes, months ago. I took this at 4.15 this afternoon, the doors opened at 6.30, and those two in space blankets had been queuing since 10.00 last night.

The cold, the camaraderie, the tedium and the excitement will probably remain with them for the rest of their lives, though I doubt they’ve given that five seconds thought, just as I didn’t at their age when in order to hear the objects of my fandom I put up with sunburn on Charlton Athletic football pitch, or beating miles through unknown territory to reach an inaccessible airport.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.