Scribbler

By scribbler

When You're a Stranger

Michelle in the Consumer Affairs office at the main Portland post office.

!@#$%^&* ... Surprise is today's DDW challenge.



There were two surprises, actually.
First, the bad surprise. USPS 2-day priority mail took 4 days.
Second, the good surprise. I went to the Consumer Affairs office to complain about this, and Michelle was there to assist in every way. She doesn't like posing for portraits, but she let me take hers, first with my iPhone and then with Blip's b&w film camera. She lent me a pair of scissors and helped me unwrap the box, fish the camera out of the styrofoam peanuts, rewrap the camera in bubble wrap, put it back in the peanuts, and tape the box up. Then she got a black marking pen and crossed out the old addresses and the shipping barcode. Meanwhile, I explained to her about Blip and gave her the website address. (If there were any business cards in the box, I didn't find them.) All in all it was quite fun, and Michelle wouldn't let me leave without shaking hands with her, so I guess we're not strangers anymore. :)

An altogether good experience ... if my photo of Michelle comes out! I addressed a new label and got right on line to ship the camera to the next blipper (vicki43). I wonder how many of these shots will turn out to be portraits of postal workers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.