SuffolkBumble

By SuffolkBumble

March 1st 2009 - Sally's Birthday

Today was Sally’s birthday but we English kept to our traditions and didn’t sing happy birthday songs first thing in the morning. We ate breakfast, packed, repacked and said our goodbyes to the other group. Several times. And then we left Cabanas Del Rio and set off for Mindo.

The bus journey was crap and I was feeling awful but as soon as we reached Cabanas Banbu I started feeling a bit better. Mainly because of the puppies. The puppies were frickin cute. The hostel was beautiful as well, the grounds, the cabins, the hammocks (I want a hammock in my living room), the little tiny wooden football goals – it was very charming and so full of character that it’s a shame we only get a night.

This afternoon’s activity was canopying, which was immense. The activity (and the birthday girl) make up today’s blip. Yes, that is Sally arriving from the abyss. It was so relaxing when gliding over the tree tops and such a rush when upside down! The views were spectacular, in the Superman pose there were awesome views of the river and tree tops below and the butterfly position gave such a rush!

Back at the hostel Josefine and I prepared ‘pass the parcel’ (which was supposed to be a secret until I let slip over dinner). I had a lovely Tilipia over dinner in a gorgeous garlic sauce. On the way to dinner we managed to fit 20 of us in a pick up truck (although Mia, Louise St, Hilde and I had to stand up and we got slightly soaked whilst discussing the Pizza Burger) so the majority of us walked home. It was cool as it was pitch black unless a car came past, but we were safe enough. Well all except Chloe as in my charming way of showing I liked her I kept trying to push her in puddles.

Back at the hostel it was celebration time! There was cake and ‘pass the parcel’ worked well. Sally had a great time which was the whole point of the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.