Reflecting

... my cousin in Arizona has sent me all the old family photos my aunt had taken to the US with her in 1967 when they emigrated. I have had a wonderful day going through them all. Aunty Betty has always been portrayed to me as the black sheep of the family, though not really sure why she had that reputation. It is quite sweet to think that she cared about us all enough to keep all these photos with her over the years in the US. Her sister in law was Sandra Dorne, an actress from Keighley (born Joan Smith!) and there are some of her studio photos, signed in some cases Joan, in others Sandra. I am thinking of donating those to Cliffe Castle Museum or similar. Any suggestions from any of you as to the best place for them?

My dad will now have a photo of his beloved Cocker Spaniel Prince, who died whilst dad was doing National Service in the early 50's. I think I got my love of dogs from this side of the family.

I managed to put the contents of the box away to take Reggie for a jaunt into Wharfedale.... ( he does have a passport!) . Sat and had a coffee up at the tea room by Ilkley Tarn, watching the helicopter dropping heather ( presumably from Harden Moor as blipped a couple of weeks ago) on the moor opposite, and then went up on the Chevin in the 'surprise view' car park for a look at the view . Several photos to chose from today, but thought this one of the reflection in Ilkley Tarn seemed the most appropriate given all the photos I've been looking at from the past.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.