New word, old concept

One of the most recent new words to enter the Oxford English Dictionary is selfie. It generally refers to holding a mobile phone or smart phone at arm's length and looking into its lens as you click. But selfies in the form of time-lapse photography are not new.

Here are a couple of my Grandpa's 'selfies' taken over 75 years ago when he would have been about 50. He developed and printed all his own photos in a makeshift darkroom, a.k.a. the family bathroom, and even tinted many of them. But in these photos he always seems to wear that 'Is it going to work?' expression. He'd have loved digital photography, I'm sure. So today, as I've been sorting and scanning lots of photos from my mother's album from the 1930s, he shall star in my 21st century Blip journal.

After over 3 years' of blipping, I couldn't resist Blip's special offer for March of lifetime membership. So I am now a full member and should be able to give hearts, I believe! Woohoo! And, I hope, you'll be able to biggify my wondrous blips! What japes! Oh - and as this is my 1200th consecutive blip, and the first day of a new month, it's a kind of significant day to join.

PS Thank you for all those stars for my Little Egret yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.