tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Days of the leek

It was Dydd Gŵyl Dewi  today but the daffodils are hardly out. I prefer leeks anyway and quite by chance I bought some in the farmers' market.
My son was catching the train to Cardiff and since he had some time to kill we looked around a few charity and antique shops.
My eyes immediately fell upon these Art Deco plates, £12 for 6. Royal Venton Ware from Burslem, 1920s, to the best of my knowledge.
And elsewhere I found the little recipe book that Nest is standing on. It's called Rebecca's Riotous Recipes and appears to be a collection of local people's culinary contributions put together by the Newport Beach Action Group about 20 years ago, maybe more. The title and cover picture recall the Rebecca Riots in the 1840s when local men, disguised as women, destroyed the toll gates in protest at being made to pay every time they used the roads.
Touchingly, I opened it and found a recipe for fish pie supplied by a former member of my reading group whose funeral took place only yesterday. Diolch yn fawr Jean, and nos da.

If you have a few minutes to spare I urge you to listen to this wonderful poem, entitled Miracle on St David's Day, by the national poet of Wales, Gillian Clarke. It recounts a true event and is quite moving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.