Track to the lake edge

Behind me the fisher-hunter is tying on a fly or at least sorting out something for me. There is a chair in the water. I wander in carefully enter the lake on both crutches and sit on the chair to fish. Not always you understand, but it's how it's done while my broken foot heals.

I did initially post an image showing what I described but it was a little into the afternoon sun and what really caught my eye was my old nemesis, a matagouri bush stark against the crisp blue sky. It also shows a little of the side track we dropped down to get to the edge of Lake Grassmere.

Big and spacious large

We fished the morning at Lake Pearson a few km's down the road. I caught a couple of Rainbow trout at Pearson. They live another day because I chose to return them.

No fish were enticed with lures or flies this afternoon. It was just lovely to be here. Quite different to the cold foggy start to the day.

In case you're wondering, no, crutches don't float. The holes for setting the height double as excellent drainage holes, that and tipping them upside down once you're safely back on dry land.

It's a tricky business ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.