Into the light

By MrTPhotography

Bonsai training at Bonsaiville

I attended my first bonsai workshop ever today. It's run by Robert Langholm at his home, Bonsaiville, in Mt Albert. Bob started in bonsai in 1963 and is the founder member of the Auckland Bonsai Society. He was the Society president for 20 years, and he is an honorary life member. He is also an Honorary Consultant to the Auckland Chinese Bonsai Society.

That's not Bob in the picture, but one of his students at the workshop I attended. This gentleman is wiring up his pine tree to adopt the shape he wanted. Whereas all I had to do to my totara sapling was to nip the top and the tips of a couple of branches, give it some food, and cover the pot with pebbles. Still very, very early days yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.