An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Finally, Venus...

The very first comment left on my last Blip from London, yesterday, was in response to my announcement that I was looking forward to doing some "proper" photography. The Blipper was intrigued - and asked what I meant...

Well, in London (I mean, generally) you have a nice solid surface on which to set up one's tripod and plenty of light to see with, both to take pictures with and of. Chances are also that you're not a million miles from somewhere to get a cup of tea - and such.

I did also say that I was keen to check local river levels. Yes - a recipe for semi disaster, I know.

Forecast was for a crappily rubbish wet grey Sunday, so the slot for something else was very early morning, but long before sunrise.

So, armed with LED torch, followed the oh-so muddy and slidey and slippery path that was within inches from the still swollen river. Wellington boots, of course. In the near-pitch dark, came across a tree. With roots uplifted, a good ten feet high and right up to the fence. The other end of the trunk went right out to almost the far bank of the river...

Hmmm. Had got so far, I was NOT going to go back empty handed! So, with tripod in bag, old D700 on the shoulder, rucksack and carrier bag with my trainers in, I tried climbing over the trunk, pulling myself up via twigs. Dropped the torch, over the other side. It rolled under something, so I couldn't see anyway!

Finally getting to my chosen spot and having implanted the Slik into about 6 inches of flooded river water, found the cloud cover was blowing quite quickly - but just with yet more cloud! Where was this clear spell that the BBC forecast told me about??

Anyways, this was about it. The super-wide 14mm Sigma (on FX D700) is only about a foot above the water level - the city lights tinged clouds separating enough to let a glimpse of Venus to shine through. Look in LARGE for the Planet. A two minute or so exposure got the clouds and river flowing a bit.

The colours are pretty much as they were. The ever-on red light on top of the Cathedral Spire casting a glorious crimson smudge of reflection. The bent reeds in the water would normally be on the river bank - so much has flowed over them that they have broken.

So, yes, after the assault course back over the fallen tree, it is good to be back doing PROPER photography - where the results are down to trying that bit harder....

Been on the Computer since I got back - and now must do something else - like the washing up. Or polishing the tripod legs...they surely do deserve a bit of TLC after where they've been!

Have a good Sunday, folks!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.