Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

The Secret O'Life

The Secret O' Life is Enjoying the Passage of Time! To say it's been a fabulous birthday would be an understatement. It's been that to the 50th power!

The photo is half of my birthday cake -- the waiter packaged it for me so I could bring it home to let it continue tempting me . . . it wins the prize for the most delicious chocolate cake I've ever tasted. The chocolate sauce on the top was warm last night with 4 puffs of whipped cream on the plate at each corner of the cake. One single lit candle decorated the top.

For dinner we sat in our favorite booth for two--hadn't sat there in months--I ordered bolognese with broccoli, mushrooms, and added tomatoes on angel hair pasta (and brought half of it home) and Mr. Fun had "simple salmon." We shared a Caesar salad and both had a thin sliver of delicious bread. And then the cake -- I halfed it and then cut that in half.

A dozen red roses and a bottle of champagne were presented early in the morning, so I was surprised in the restaurant when Mr. Fun presented me with a gift bag from Nordstrom's filled with wonderful items.

What tickled me the most is that he'd shopped for lingerie, Wacoal lingerie (google it--just beautiful). Since we've been young-marrieds, he has loved to surprise me with beautiful lingerie. There was also a bottle of Clarins Eau Dynamisante, for years a favorite cologne, and then a wrapped package of 3 concert DVDs -- one of James Taylor being honored as the Musicares Person of the Year with lots of others, wonderful others, performing JT's music; Paul McCartney in Red Square; and Paul McCartney: Good Evening New York City. I love music, so I was delighted.

After dinner we drove home and watched the James Taylor DVD. It's great. Then we headed upstairs to get some sleep and Mr. Fun put the "Red Square" DVD in the bedroom TV and the last song I heard late on the night of my birthday was McCartney singing the "Birthday" song. I almost woke-up Mr. Fun because I was so delighted, but I refrained and enjoyed it as he slept.

The biggest surprise and greatest delight was to see an email on my phone middle evening from Deb -- that her grand-daughter was born on my birthday. Months ago when Deb said a new grand-daughter was due in November, I immediately replied with "The 17th would be a great day!" Then this past Sunday, Deb, emailed to say that her daughter was in labor. I told her "any day in November is a good day." So I am delighted that little Morgan chose the 17th. For years I've known that the 17th is "a very good day" and now that has multiplied! This makes my eyes fill with tears!

And all the Blip friends who celebrated along with me and sent birthday wishes added immensely to the fun of my day--WOW! Thank YOU everyone! I love Blipfoto!

With the after-glow of a birthday all around,
Good night from Southern California!
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.