FirehorseMia

By FirehorseMia

Pulp Fiction

Back in town, only to discover the local tomcat has crapped in the middle of my carrot patch - despite the chicken wire protection. This guy wreaks havoc in my garden on a regular basis.

I'm so over gardening & plan to make a start on my stack of Pulp Fiction.
I picked up a couple of Carter Brown & Ed McBain books at my local community centre book sale a few months ago. I lent them to my brother & set him off on an obsession that hasn't yet been sated. He has sought out more books on TradeMe (like EBay for Kiwis). What did I start?!

Please note the wonderful Pulp novel written by Gore Vidal's alter ego: Edgar Box.
Carter Brown & Ed McBain (aka Evan Hunter) started their careers nearly 60 years ago.

Carter was a Briton who lived in Australia & took the piss out of the American Detective Novel genre.

Evan Hunter wrote Blackboard Jungle & later as Ed McBain, his 87th Precinct novels triggered the slew of Police Procedurals that now crowd our bookshop shelves & TV.

A bit stiff & sore, so an early night for me ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.