dsparks83

By dsparks83

Comics - art? story? novel?

I've never been an avid comic book reader, I've always enjoyed them and when I was younger I had a subscription to 2000AD and picked up the odd Marvel and DC comic. Since going to the Lakes Comic art festival last year my interest has peaked a little.
After watching Man of Steel recently I noticed an offer and picked up the digital version of Red Son to read on my iPad. Now you can't beat the ease of reading comics on your iPad and the screen does a great job of them, but I can't help feeling that this isn't the way comics should be read, that there's art there that isn't done justice to off the printed page. I've always said that people who complain about the Kindle reading experience not being as good as feeling a book in their hands are reading for the wrong reasons and just being daft. So I kind of wonder am I doing the same with comics? Or does the artwork involved make them different and if so does that mean they're more art than story? I've always agreed with the notion of the graphic novel as a serious form of storytelling and agreed with people who champion it as such but this does make me feel a little conflicted in that view?

It doesn't matter I guess as I'll still enjoy them and the question of their literary merit doesn't make much difference to that enjoyment, but it's just one of those niggling little things that bother you sometimes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.