Nurture Nature

The "0ne year ago" link on Blip showed me that today was pretty much an identical copy of the equivalent Sunday last year. 10k, fry up, listen to music.

The music this year consisted of the new Warpaint album which arrived yesterday on beautiful, heavy vinyl and the new Jesca Hoop CD which arrived the day before on shiny whatever it is they make CDs out of - rainbows and tinfoil, I think.

But today also marked the ancient pagan rite by which, since time immemorial, Man has marked the turning of the seasons. The rite is triggered when I realise that I have missed the arbitrary start of Spring - Andrew Marr told me that it was, apparently, yesterday. I then have to decide which piece of music should be selected to symbolise the upcoming Summer.

It could have been Old Skool (Here comes the Summer by the Undertones or Mr Blue Skies by that poodle-haired man) or New Skool (Independant Akademy?) - last Summer it was Lana Del Ray. But, luckily, this song came on the earphones mid-run.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.