Liangge

By Liangge

Bird cages

Great Sunday as it was full of interesting findings, chats, food, scenes and sports... and the weather was moderately good - I mean no rain there.

Visited (well, more precisely, picked up) a former student who were the star student (my respect and pride) in my group a couple of years ago! She's of Chinese origin but does not speak Mandarin Chinese good enough yet. Although she claimed to be at the age of my grandma, she looks quite young (no flattering) and energetic, she called me 'laoshi (teacher)' in her emails.

'You mustn't, as that was over already.' I protested and she followed, 'See, how obedient your Chinese student is!'

The visit started with watching a half marathon just passing by her home and we were the only cheering people for the runners. And I was the only photographer :-). Yet I knew they were not my theme of the day!

Great Chinese tea and meal, great Chinese elements of decoration and great intercultural minds and chats ... all of which made me really struggle as to which photo to use for blipping of the day!

Finally, I selected this one to highlight a disappearing Chinese tradition - caged bird feeding. It used to be a popular thing in ancient China (well, don't ask me how ancient it was) among the well-off class but nowadays a complex of factors (e.g. the Proletariat-Bourgeois combat, human-nature fight, modernity and industrialisation, animal right and protection...) has almost wiped off its pure entertaining of bird feeding - caged birds were well fed but, hmmm, freedom?

Anyway, they are just interested in the fine craftsmanship of the bird cages and have collected different styles for fun. The birds in their big yard are enjoying free food and air!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.