Aspiring Amateur

By MegB

Mother Nature Magnitude

My husband and I had planned on seeing the movie "Gravity" in 3D today, however, we woke to sunshine and blue skies so it was difficult to choose staying indoors. Instead, we took a drive out to see what the mostly frozen Lake Michigan looked like.

Despite our continued single digit temperatures, it was glorious being out of doors and soaking up the sun. We went to the location where the ice caves were and I'm so glad we did! As reported in the news, the ice caves are gone but all the mounds close to the shoreline's edge are still there (I think they may still be there in July May!?) and they add interest to the overall landscape. Beyond the mounds is the frozen expanse of lake with ice shards (and, I suspect, small areas of open water). We did not venture past the mounds because it was very slippery and neither of us wanted to fall and invite possible injury.

My favorite part about being out there today was seeing all the other people of all ages enjoying the day and, more specifically, enjoying the eye candy Mother Nature has provided for us this winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.