David Nichols

By davidnichols

St. Bartholomew's Cathedral in Pilsen

View of St. Bartholomew's Cathedral in the center of the town square of Plzen (Pilsen). And yes, this is where the beer comes from. There is a reason that Czech beer is considered some of the best in the world, and we can thank this city for making a lot of it.

This night I finished up my VFR night qualification; it was a nearly 3 hour flight in a very big circle around Prague. The visibility was perfect, but the winds were very strong; according to my GPS we had a ground speed of 156 knots going east (awesome), and a ground speed of 80 knots going west (not so great). The final landing a Vodochody (LKVO) was interesting to say the least; the tower advised winds from 250 degrees at 18 knots gusting to 25 for runway 28 (30 degree crosswind component). It sure felt like a lot more; the plane was bouncing all over the place on final. For some reason my instructor pulled out full flaps on short final, whereas in that wind I normally would have landed with half. Anyway the landing was a little hard for my tastes, but safe, and all in all it was a very good flight.

So now I can fly alone or with passengers at night, although I probably won't for a while.

The picture was taken from OK-CPL, a Cessna 172RG. It was hard to take a good picture without the flash with the light turbulence we had over Plzen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.